I find lots of guides, advice, strategies these days on how to start a business with little or no money and they all almost revolve around eCommerce or internet marketing models.

No doubt that there are a percentage of people that actually make enough to quit their job, most just end up in failed, wasted time. One of the reasons is that the web is very competitive now to get traffic. The other is maybe lack of experience. I notice when you see Gurus like Tai Lopez showing you how he got $50k in sales in one day, what you don't see is how much money was spent on PPC. An amount that could be more than some people's annual salary!

That's not to say you can't make money online. You can! But it's more work than just setting up a simple dropshipping website.

Though that's not the crux of my post today. I have had 10 years of entrepreneurial experience where I sold my first startup for 6x return on my capital. In another venture, I had also lost $650,000 of angel investor funds. Then I had some nice income generating ones. Through it all, I learned a good amount of "what NOT to do" and am today still learning "what to do right". Learning never stops!

Here's my 5 tips for those that want to start a real business

1) It's ideal to have dual income in your family and supporting spouse, parent, etc. When you are starting up a biz the old school way, you jump in with two feet and most times the first trickle of profits only start to come in 4-6 months in an ideal situation. For some businesses, it takes longer but perhaps the profits are larger. Make sure that you can support yourself during this time. Sure you could have a warchest saved for expenses for 8 months but this puts unnecessary pressure on your decisions. You keep watching the clock VS. if a spouse is supportive (and knows the end goal, financial freedom), you can make business decisions without the pressure of "do or die" choices which end up usually being the wrong decision.