Good day to all,

I am an aspiring entrepreneur and I studied management. I have knowledge with respect to theory but lack much experience in business. Presently, i just want to know what is my first step to take. How do you begin? Do i choose a product or service, how do i know what industry to go into or do i monitor the different markets then come up with a need in an industry. Where should my ideas come from and what is the best strategy or approach should i take in beginning this journey.
Any feedback will be greatly appreciated

JohnHolling

Serial entrepreneur, Investor, Mentor
Hi @Inquisitive3.0, Welcome to the forum!

What a great question, and what an exciting time. Without knowing you or your skills, it's tough to give you very specific advice, but here's what I know from years of entrepreneurial experience...

It's important to find something that's a balance of your skills and what you love. Don't start a business unless it lights your fire! For example, I'm good at writing, so I've taken on several writing projects over the years, but I don't really enjoy writing, so it's a chore to do it and not fulfilling. I could never do it as my primary business.

On the other hand, after starting and selling several businesses, what I love most is helping entrepreneurs to do the same. So now I consult for startups. It's what drives me.

Market research, finding a need, and planning are all necessary, but your best starting point is finding your passion. Do that first, then find a way to monetize it in a way that makes a successful business.

That's my two cents. If you have specific questions, keep posting in the forum. It's a great place to find help from experienced people who care.

Cheers!
John

Hi @Inquisitive3.0, Welcome to the forum!

What a great question, and what an exciting time. Without knowing you or your skills, it's tough to give you very specific advice, but here's what I know from years of entrepreneurial experience...