Content Marketing: The Hard Path that Keeps on Giving

Users who viewed this discussion (Total:0)

djbaxter

Administrator
4 Lessons on Content Marketing – The Hard Path that Keeps on Giving!
by Srinivas Krishnaswamy, SearchEnginePeople.com
January 19, 2018

It's been over two years and since I started my bootstrapped venture. With very little money to spend and no major investment backing, I was looking at ways to spread the word about my product and couldn't afford to spend money on social media platforms.... With no experience in marketing products for consumers via the Internet, and absolutely no knack for churning out viral content (even my cat was way too lazy to do anything that might give me content for a viral video), my situation seemed hopeless.

Finally, I decided to do something that did not involve any spend but took up pretty much all my time. I started churning out content across several platforms and that's all I have been doing for over two years now... My site has seen traffic grow by over 40 times from Nov 2015 to Nov 2017!

Here are the key lessons I learned about using content marketing as the primary strategy to get your product off the ground.

1. Create The Best Content In Your Industry
Every industry has similar opportunities to differentiate. You just need to spend the time. Use this action list to create the best content on this side of the galaxy for your business.
  1. Identify keywords for your business that you want to target.
  2. Understand the intent of the keyword. Find out what type of keyword you are addressing - navigational (Facebook login), Informational (laptop review), or transactional (order pizza). You should be targeting informational or transactional keywords.
  3. Once the intent is clear, review the top 10 articles showing up for the keywords on search engines (aka Google).
  4. List down the broad subtopics covered in the top 10 articles.