BizWarriors Forum Is a Free Entrepreneur, Business and Start Up Forum

Connect With Other Entrepreneurs Online Today!
Dismiss Notice
Welcome to Our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

"High" Fashion

Discussion in 'Fashion and Accessories' started by Pop, Oct 2, 2015.

Share This Page

1. Pop

Pop Entrepreneur

2. Kathryn M.

Kathryn M. Entrepreneur

I work in the fashion industry and to be honest, you have to decide if you want to create "art," or if you want to make money. Unfortunately, doing both does not exist in this industry.

I remember being in fashion school and we had to create all this "art" in order to get passing grades and be seen as competent in the field. I always gave what they wanted, however, once I graduated, I started focusing on clothing that will actually generate revenues. That means, offering clothing that people can/will actually wear in real life.

While the art side of fashion is fun and exciting, I was looking for profits. I think if you want your fashion designs in a museum, it is best to go the "art" route. If you are looking to profit, it is best to go the "practical" route and offer items that regular people can understand, wear, and afford.

I think Betsey Johnson said it best:

"You can make all the great clothing you want, but if it doesn't sell... what's the point?"

Ladyferoz and Digsby Trace like this.
  3. dyanmarie25

dyanmarie25 Entrepreneur

I think only Hollywood celebrities could pull of those kinds of bizarre dresses/clothing. I just always go for comfortable clothes, and not way too high fashion.

4. missbishi

missbishi Entrepreneur

I'm pretty sure that these outlandish outfits we see on the runways are not really designed to be worn. I think they're more of a marketing tool really - after all, the craziest, most insane outfits from the fashion shows always end up in the media the next day. It's all brand publicity.

5. nailah783

nailah783 Entrepreneur