BizWarriors Forum Is a Free Entrepreneur, Business and Start Up Forum

Connect With Other Entrepreneurs Online Today!
Dismiss Notice
Welcome to Our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Share This Page

1. Goldstandard89

Goldstandard89 Entrepreneur

I'm an illustrator who loves working on children's books and singular illustrations. I love turning doodles into finished images. Lately I've been able to put my images on items like t-shirts, cups, and other items. The hardest part of being an illustrator is learning how to sell your work because they completely skip that part in college. Which is really strange until you consider how solidified the idea of the starving artist is.

T J Tutor likes this.

2. Valerie

Valerie Entrepreneur

I understand this completely. Creating graphic designs, selling photographs to people looking for your subject matter, putting those images on products... it's really an elusive thing. Even as a dancer and writer (which are my main streams of income), putting my services up for sale was never taught. Hours of technical training, hours of learning sentence structure and editing, and yet probably not even one solid hour of true education in the business end of it. I think if we dived deep enough, we'd find the information we're seeking; but isn't that what educational institutions are for? It always made me angry to think, "Professor, I could be learning something else more useful right this very moment from the comfort of my bed." Le sigh.

Luckily, when it comes to selling illustrations, you can do freelance work for publishing companies! If you have a publisher in mind and know what styles they're looking for, the only way to sell your work is to inquire whether or not you can. For example, the Clark's World magazine takes illustrations for their short stories or covers for their magazine. You can try Cafepress and Zazzle for other ways of promoting yourself.

3. William Clements